12 months, or 1 year, or just the beginning…

12 months ago I was in a hospital waiting to meet my son. It was a long day that included lots of tears and confusion, but in the end I had a perfect 9lb 6oz baby boy. He melted my heart immediately. Truthfully my heart melted the day I saw those 2 blue lines and I dared to hope that the thing I had prayed for for so long was coming true. My heart melted when the dr. confirmed it. My heart melted when the ultrasound technician told us “It’s a boy.” My heart melted when I heard his fast, little heart beat.

The Father, in His grace and mercy, has given me the privilege of being mother to this amazing little man. This little man who loves to give me repeated kisses. This little man who loves music so much he has to move whenever he hears a song. This little man who flirts and charms his way into everyone’s hearts. This little man who is finding his voice, sometimes very loudly. This little man who is becoming independent, which breaks my heart a little.

So one year has gone by. So this is just the beginning. I have had him all to myself. I rocked him. I carried him. I nursed him. Now I have to share him with all the things he is discovering, like friends, and words, and walking, and toys. Oh my dearest, Mama loves you so! Happy 1st birthday, Elijah!
0719091625-01
0710091240-01

4 thoughts on “12 months, or 1 year, or just the beginning…

  1. Your words are so beautiful. You have a precious gift from God. Elijah is Blessed to have you & Chad for his mommy & daddy. Of course, Elijah has the best of both of you in him. This is just the beginning as he will amaze you each & every day. My children, although grown now, continue to Bless and amaze me everyday and will always be my babies no matter how old they get.

Leave a Reply

