How I wish…

2009 could be: PEACEFUL

I am sure it will be, but there are things troubling me that I am seeking the Lord’s guidance and assurance on.
On the global front: Israel – wow, there is just so much to pray for there. I know the animosity and hatred is biblically old, but my heart breaks for the children who are caught in the crossfire because their fathers are sold out to violence. They will never get the chance to choose for themselves. Such a vicious cycle.
The Congo – I cannot write about what is happening in the Congo without being overwhelmed by sadness. We have a little girl we sponsor in the Congo, her name is Ruth and I pray every day and night that she is protected from the atrocities that are being committed on women there. Relevant magazine has an article this month that gives a glimpse into what is going on. Please, please, please pray for the Congo and see how you can help. They are the widows and the orphans and the least of these that Christ told us to protect.

On the national front: The fear and apprehension that has come alongside us b/c of the economy. I pray that we will be able to separate the real concerns from the fear-mongering that seems to be propagated by the media. I believe we all should live more simply and gratefully and for those of us who claim to follow Christ, keep the peace that passes understanding and maybe we can represent Him well enough for people who do not have that peace to see it and want to know who gives it.
The Church – over the last several years I have been more of an observer, rather than an active participant in the Christian church. I love Christ with all my being and I love my fellow believers as well as those who do not know Him. Unfortunately, from an observing standpoint, the label of Christian is tainted. All denominations and creeds are being associated more with political affiliation and what we stand against, rather than what we stand for. If we want the light of Christ to “shine in ways that others will see and praise our Heavenly Father” (Matt. 5:14,16), we must stop focusing on the “do nots” and set our sights on what Christ called the two greatest commandments – Love and Love. All those people who we see as against our moral values will never want to follow a god who is constantly judging them through his followers and pronouncing them unfit. I wouldn’t and didn’t, until I was shown the true nature of God’s love. We have no right to judge each other, yet it is the first thing we do when someone shares their political preference, sexual orientation and even their denomination choice. Even we as fellow followers of Christ are guilty of judging, misjudging and attacking each other when we do not see eye to eye.

Personally: I am personally not at peace with a few issues, but the Lord is teaching me and waiting on me to see how His design is working. I do not understand a lot of things and the fleshly part of me gets worried, overwrought and even furious at times, but the Father is patient and when I have cooled off, He teaches me something new about our relationship. There have been times over the last few months that I have felt like Job and then I hear the Lord gently reminding me that I wasn’t around when He created the heavens and the earth, and I come face to face with my limits and finiteness. He is such an amazing refuge. I feel I need to start my daily thankful lists again to remind me of what a good God I try to serve.

Today I am grateful for:
~ my unbelievably beautiful son
~ my sweet and loving husband, he endures so well
~ a loving and supportive family
~ our wonderful home
~ good friends who want to spend time with us
~ new life for so many of our beloved friends
~ my stack of books I can’t wait to devour
~ all the leftover chocolate from Christmas

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 thoughts on “How I wish…

  1. Beautifully said! You are a deep, deep well, dearest. Thank you for pouring some of it out upon us.

    Here is a portion of what I am working on memorizing just now: “Peace I leave with you; my peace I give you. I do not give to you as the world gives. Do not let your hearts be troubled and do not be afraid.” John 14:27

    Love you.

Leave a comment